Fitness Tracker Test

Fitness Trackers, Sports Watches - News & Reviews 2022

Garmin Edge 1040 – Next-gen cyling computers with / without solar

Garmin is apparently preparing the market launch of the two cycling computers Edge 1040 and Edge 1040 Solar. This isn’t indicated only by the documents recently published by the FCC, but by some online shops already listing the two products. Though these product pages have been taken offline again, we were able to gather some valuable information.

Garmin never gets tired of inventing new and enhancing existing products and so, after releasing the Fenix 7, Epix 2, vivomove Sport, and vivosmart 5, another two sports watches (Forerunner 255 and Forerunner 955) are waiting for their official announcement.

However, with the Edge series, Garmin offers some of the best cycling computers around as well. This series will soon be joined by the Edge 1040 and Edge 1040 Solar – two premium cycling computers.

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Source: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Source: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 - Specification

 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 1040Edge 1040 Solar
Display3.5"3.5"3.5"
Resolution282 x 470 px282 x 470 px282 x 470 px
Dimensions58.0 x 114.0 x 19.0 mm59.3 x 117.6 x 20.0 mm59.3 x 117.6 x 20.0 mm
Weight124 g126 g126 g
Water resistanceIPX7IPX7IPX7
Storage32 GByte32 GByte32 GByte

Garmin Edge 1040 - Features

So far, most online stores stick to the NDA with Garmin, even though some of them have accidentally published information here and there. Unfortunately, most of them did provide flowery marketing texts only without addressing the features – neither existing nor new ones.

Basically, it can be assumed that the Edge 1040 will offer the same set of features as its predecessor Edge 1030 Plus. Due to the lack of intel and information, the following list does not claim to be complete.

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Source: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Source: Garmin via buydig.com)

The following features can be considered as given:

  • Multi-band GNSS

    The Edge 1040 is Garmin’s first cycling computer that not only supports multiple positioning systems (including GPS, GLONASS, Galileo) but also supports the use of multiple frequency bands. This allows for an increased level of accuracy, especially where individual satellite signals are weak or reflected by the environment and thus are received by the device at different times. The use of multiple frequencies allows these propagation time errors to be corrected.

  • Solar-Technologie

    In addition, the Edge 1040 Solar is Garmin’s first cycling computer to feature solar panels above and next to the display. Although the small surfaces are not enough to charge the device’s battery, they do extend the battery life by a considerable amount.

  • Power Guide

    The Power Guide feature can be seen in conjunction with Climb Pro and is supposed to help manage the efforts to be made. Until the official announcement by Garmin, the feature remains a bit contourless, but one of the press images shows “GUIDE AVG”, which may be attributed to the Power Guide.

  • Stamina

    The “Real-time Stamina” feature was first introduced with the Fenix 7 / Epix Gen 2 and will probably be on the Forerunner 955. The feature initially was supposed to runners and indicates how much stamina can be expected at which pace. Garmin likely did adapt this feature for the Edge 1040 so that it provides meaningful values for cyclists.

  • Improved Performance

    System performance seems to play a role even in cycling computers, and so Garmin promises even better performance with the Edge 1040.

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Source: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Source: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 - Battery life

Battery life usually increases from generation to generation. This is no different for the Edge 1040, as the new device offers almost 46% more battery life in standard use. The gain is even more significant when using solar energy, as it allows for up to 45 hours use (+87% compared with the Edge 1030 Plus). In energy-saving mode even up to 100 hours are said to be possible.

 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 1040Edge 1040 Solar
Standardup to 24 hoursup to 35 hoursup to 45 hours
Battery Saver Modeup to 48 hoursup to 70 hoursup to 100 hours

The relative values illustrate the level of gain:

 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 1040Edge 1040 Solar
Standardup to 24 hours+ 45,8 %+ 87,5 %
Battery Saver Modeup to 48 hours+ 45,8 %+ 208,3 %

Availability and prices

Garmin has announced the release of new products for June 1. Whether it’s the Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar or solely the Forerunner 255 / 955 (after all, June 1 is World Runners’ Day) has to be seen.

Some online retailers have already listed the cycling computer in both variants (and had to take the product pages offline again):

  • Garmin Edge 1040 – $699,99
  • Garmin Edge 1040 Solar – $749,99

If Garmin doesn’t launch the Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar on June 1, it may be scheduled for June 8. On the one hand, Garmin usually announces new products on Wednesdays, and on the other hand, the confidentiality agreement between the FCC and Garmin expires on June 8 – which usually means that photos and manuals become public on FCC’s website.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?


Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fitness Tracker Test

Fitnessarmband, Puls- & Sportuhren Vergleich 2022

Garmin Edge 1040 – Premium-Radsport-Computer mit und ohne Solar

Garmin bereitet offenbar den Marktstart der beiden Radsport-Computer Edge 1040 und Edge 1040 Solar vor. Hinweise darauf geben nicht nur die kürzlich bei der US-Zulassungsbehörde FCC veröffentlichten Unterlagen, auch erste Online-Shops hatten die beiden Produkte kurzzeitig gelistet. Mittlerweile sind die Seiten wieder offline genommen worden. Ein paar wertvolle Informationen haben sich dennoch zusammentragen lassen.

Garmin wird nicht müde den Markt mit neuen Produkten zu versorgen und so stehen nach der Veröffentlichung von Fenix 7, Epix 2, vivomove Sport und vivosmart 5 die beiden Sportuhren Forerunner 255 und Forerunner 955 in den Startlöchern. Nicht vergessen werden dürfen aber die Radsport-Computer der Edge-Serie, die Garmin ebenfalls im Portfolio hat und die sich großer Beliebtheit erfreuen. Eben diese Serie wird in Kürze mit dem Edge 1040 und dem Edge 1040 Solar Zuwachs im Premium-Segment erhalten.

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Quelle: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Quelle: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 - Spezifikation

 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 1040Edge 1040 Solar
Displaygröße3,5"3,5"3,5"
Auflösung282 x 470 px282 x 470 px282 x 470 px
Abmessungen58,0 x 114,0 x 19,0 mm59,3 x 117,6 x 20,0 mm59,3 x 117,6 x 20,0 mm
Gewicht124 g126 g126 g
WasserfestigkeitIPX7IPX7IPX7
Speicherplatz32 GByte32 GByte32 GByte

Garmin Edge 1040 - Features

Bisher halten die meisten Online-Shops dicht, auch wenn hier und da ein paar Informationen zum Produkt aufgetaucht sind. Mehr als blumige Markting-Texte waren leider nicht zu finden, so dass die Liste der Features (insbesondere der neuen) relativ dürftig ausfällt.

Grundlegend kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass der Edge 1040 mindestens den gleichen Funktionsumfang wie sein Vorgänger Edge 1030 Plus bieten wird. Die Liste erhebt folglich nicht den Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit.

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Quelle: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Quelle: Garmin via buydig.com)

Darüber hinaus gelten folgende Feature schon fast als gesichert:

  • Multiband GNSS

    Der Edge 1040 ist Garmins erster Fahrrad-Computer, der nicht nur mehrere Positionierungssysteme (u.a. GPS, GLONASS, Galileo), sondern auch die Verwendung mehrerer Frequenzen unterstützt. Das sorgt vor allem dort für ein ehöhtes Maß an Genauigkeit, wo einzelne Satellitensignale schwach sind bzw. von der Umgebung stark reflektiert werden und mit unterschiedlichen Laufzeiten am Gerät ankommen. Die Verwendung mehrerer Frequenzen erlaubt diese Laufzeit-Fehler herauszurechnen.

  • Solar-Technologie

    Mit dem Edge 1040 Solar erscheint gleichzeitig Garmins erster Fahrrad-Computer, der über Solarflächen oberhalb und nebem dem eigentlichen Display verfügt. Die kleinen Flächen reichen zwar nicht aus, um den Akku des Gerätes aufzuladen, sie verlängern die Laufzeit aber um ein deutliches Stück.

  • Power Guide

    Das Power Guide Feature kann in Verbindung mit Climb Pro gesehen werden und soll beim Haushalten der zur erbringenden Aufwände helfen. Bis zur offiziellen Ankündigung bleibt das Feature ein wenig konturlos, einer der Pressebilder zeigt aber „GUIDE AVG“, das durchaus dem Power Guide zugeschrieben werden kann.

  • Stamina

    Das Feature „Real-time Stamina“ wurde zunächst mit der Fenix 7 / Epix Gen 2 eingeführt und wird wohl auch in Kürze auf der Forerunner 955 zu finden sein. Das Feature adressiert dort zunächst Läufer und erlaubt eine Einschätzung, wieviel Ausdauer bei welchem Tempo zu erwarten ist. Für den Edge 1040 passt Garmin das Feature an, so dass es auch für Radsportler aussagekräftige Werte liefert.

  • Verbesserte Performance

    Performance scheint selbst bei Rad-Computern eine Rolle zu spielen und so verspricht Garmin mit dem Edge 1040 eine nochmals gesteigerte Leistung.

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Quelle: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar (Quelle: Garmin via buydig.com)

Garmin Edge 1040 - Akkulaufzeiten

Bei den Akkulaufzeiten können in der Regel von Generation zu Generation Steigerungen beobachtet werden. Das ist beim Edge 1040 nicht anders und so bietet das neue Modell knapp 46% mehr Laufzeit. Deutlicher fällt der Zugewinn bei der Nutzung von Solarenergie aus, denn hier steigt die Akkulaufzeit auf bis zu 45 Stunden (+ 87 % Akkulaufzeit ggü. Edge 1030 Plus). Im Energiesparmodus sollen sogar bis zu 100 Stunden möglich sein.

 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 1040Edge 1040 Solar
Standardbis zu 24 Stundenbis zu 35 Stundenbis zu 45 Stunden
Energiesparmodusbis zu 48 Stundenbis zu 70 Stundenbis zu 100 Stunden

Die relativen Werte verdeutlichen das Maß an Zugewinn:

 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 1040Edge 1040 Solar
Standardbis zu 24 Stunden+ 45,8 %+ 87,5 %
Energiesparmodusbis zu 48 Stunden+ 45,8 %+ 208,3 %

Verfügbarkeit und Preise

Garmin hat für den 1. Juni die Veröffentlichung neuer Produkte angekündigt. Ob es sich dabei um den Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar oder alleinig um die Forerunner 255 / 955 handelt (schließlich ist am 1. Juni World Runners‘ Day) wird sich zeigen.

Erste Online-Shops haben den Rad-Computer bereits in beiden Varianten gelistet (und wieder offline nehmen müssen):

  • Garmin Edge 1040 – 699,99 €
  • Garmin Edge 1040 Solar – 749,99 €

Wenn Garmin den Edge 1040 / Edge 1040 Solar nicht am 1. Juni launched, dann steht eine Woche später bereits der nächste Termin an. Zum einen kündigt Garmin neuen Produkte in der Regel mittwochs an, zum anderen fällt am 8. Juni die Verschwiegenheitserklärung zwischen der US-Zulassungsbehörde FCC und Garmin – damit werden in der Regel Fotos und Anleitungen auf deren Webseite öffentlich.

Garmin Edge 1040
1
Bewertungen
593,66 €
Aktueller Preis
699,99
UVP
Bewertungen ansehen Bei Amazon kaufen

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Ø Bewertung: / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen:

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Weil du diesen Beitrag nützlich fandest...

Folge uns in sozialen Netzwerken!

Es tut uns leid, dass der Beitrag für dich nicht hilfreich war!

Lasse uns diesen Beitrag verbessern!

Wie können wir diesen Beitrag verbessern?


Stichworte: , , , ,

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.