Fitness Tracker Test 2024
Independ reviews of Fitness Trackers and Sport Watches

Garmin Forerunner 165 – Entry-level sports watch for runner unveiled

Garmin has introduced the Forerunner 165, a new sports watch designed for running. It is primarily aimed at ambitious running beginners and provides sufficient features for when demands increase.

Last year, Garmin provided product updates for sports watches in the mid-range and high-end segments with the Forerunner 265 and Forerunner 965. With the Forerunner 165, the entry-level segment now sees an addition.

Garmin Forerunner 165 | Source: Garmin

Garmin Forerunner 165 | Source: Garmin

Garmin Forerunner 165 – Extensive Updates in Hardware and Software

Despite the somewhat unexpected nomenclature, the Forerunner 165 is likely understood as the successor to the Forerunner 55. Garmin’s decision not to name the watch “Forerunner 65” may be due to the numerous enhancements incorporated into the Forerunner 165.

Forerunner 55Forerunner 165Forerunner 265
Display1,04" MIP1,2" AMOLED1,3" AMOLED
Resolution208 × 208390 × 390416 × 416
Dimensions42 × 42 × 11.6 mm43 × 43 × 11.6 mm46.1 × 46.1 × 12.9 mm
Weight37 g39 g47 g
Storage-4 GB8 GB
Wristband20 mm20 mm22 mm

To better understand the Forerunner 165 in relation to the adjacent products Forerunner 55 and Forerunner 265, the basic specs are listed in the table above.

  • Music and Non-Music Models

    Garmin offers the Forerunner 165 in two variants: In addition to the standard model, the Forerunner 165 Music features built-in storage for storing music content, which can then be played on Bluetooth headphones or speakers. As an “entry-level model,” the Forerunner 165 Music only has 4 GB of storage available. In this aspect, it resembles the Garmin vivoactive 5.

    The larger models Forerunner 265 and Forerunner 965, on the other hand, offer 8 GB and 32 GB, respectively. However, the storage of the Forerunner 965 is also used to store map data.

    Given the large amount of data that can be transferred to the watch, the Forerunner 165 Music supports Wi-Fi connections, which the standard model lacks.

  • 1.2″ AMOLED Display

    One of the biggest changes concerns the display. Even in the small Forerunner 165, Garmin makes the switch from transflective MIP to AMOLED display. This display, at 1.2 inches, not only is larger, with a resolution of 390 x 390 pixels, but also allows for a more contrast-rich display with vibrant colors. With this, at least in the Forerunner series, the transflective MIP display technology has been discontinued.

    Despite the larger display, the case size only moderately increases to 43 x 43 x 11.6 mm, and the weight gain to 39 grams is also not noticeable.

  • Battery Life up to 11 Days

    With a battery life of up to 11 days in smartwatch mode, the Forerunner 165 doesn’t quite reach the values of its predecessor, but it also has the significantly more power-consuming display.

    When using GPS, the Forerunner 165 lasts up to 19 hours. When using all GNSS, the battery lasts up to 17 hours. If music playback is used simultaneously, the maximum runtime decreases to 7 or 6.5 hours.

  • PPG Sensor “Elevate V4”

    Garmin incorporates its fourth-generation PPG sensor into the Forerunner 165. The technology, named “Elevate V4,” is mainly responsible for measuring heart rates and heart rate variability, deriving a series of metrics from them. It was expected that the Forerunner 165 would not feature the EKG-capable Elevate sensor of the fifth generation.

  • Barometric Altimeter

    Additionally, Garmin integrates a barometric altimeter into the Forerunner 165. This allows the determination of altitude in addition to GPS and recording it during sports activities. In everyday life, the Forerunner 165 can also determine the number of floors climbed.

Functions

Corresponding to its performance class, the Forerunner 165 doesn’t introduce entirely new functions, but rather those that have benefited some Garmin products in the last 2.5 years.

Many of the new functions are attributed to the “Elevate V4” sensor. Although not brand new, the fifth generation capable of EKG remains reserved for premium models for now.

  • Heart Rate Variability / HRV Status

    Of interest to athletes is the measurement of heart rate variability, from which Garmin derives the HRV status. A high HRV value suggests that the body can respond well to physical stress. Even impending infections can usually be detected by changes in heart rate variability.

  • Blood Oxygen Saturation SpO2

    Using infrared and red LED light, the Forerunner 165 can determine blood oxygen levels. Although the data is not medically reliable, it provides indications of breathing difficulties during sleep or acclimatization at high altitudes. While data is continuously collected during sleep, daytime measurements must be initiated manually.

  • Cardiovascular Fitness VO2max

    The Forerunner 165 calculates the cardiovascular fitness value VO2max not only for road runs but also for trail runs.

  • Running Dynamics

    Quite surprisingly, the Forerunner 165 offers Garmin’s “Running Dynamics,” which include metrics of running efficiency. These include stride length, stride frequency, vertical oscillation, vertical ratio, and ground contact time, among others. The Forerunner 165 even calculates running performance without additional accessories.

  • Morning Report

    The Morning Report provides a summary of sleep, physical condition, and upcoming appointments shortly after waking up. Because different information is important for everyone, the Morning Report can be customized to individual needs.

  • Nap Detection

    Quite new is the Nap Detection, which detects short naps during the day. Garmin credits the energy gained from this to the Body Battery. This describes how much physical “energy” is available for the rest of the day.

  • Simple Navigation

    Those who create routes via Garmin Connect or Komoot can display the route on the watch during exercise. However, it’s only a “dotted line” – proper map material remains reserved for the Forerunner 965 and the Epix and Fenix models. At least the watch informs when deviating from the planned route.

For a product update, in my opinion, these are indeed many and high-quality features. Admittedly, the Forerunner 265 has even more features, but for running beginners, the Forerunner 165 seems to be shaping up as the model of choice. And even when the first 5 or 10 km are completed and demands on performance and the sports watch increase, the Forerunner 165 offers many useful functions.

Differentiation from the Garmin Forerunner 265

The fact that the Forerunner 55 offers significantly fewer features due to its age and the sensors it incorporates can already be seen in the above-mentioned innovations of the Forerunner 165. However, it also lacks a few features that are only provided by the next larger model, namely the Forerunner 265:

  • Multiband GPS
  • SatIQ
  • Training Readiness
  • Training Status
  • Support for Multisport / Triathlons
  • More supported sport profiles
  • More supported external sensors

In my opinion, these are primarily features that become more important when the demand for personal performance and targeted training increases. They are not necessarily essential for running beginners.

Prices and Availability

As previously announced, Garmin offers the Forerunner 165 for €279. For the Forerunner 165 Music, Garmin suggests a recommended retail price of €329. The watch is available in four additional color variants:

ModelColorSRP
Garmin Forerunner 165- Black / Slate Gray
- Mist Gray / Whitestone
279.99 €
Garmin Forerunner 165 Music- Black / Slate Gray
- Mist Gray / Whitestone
- Turquoise / Aqua
- Berry / Lilac
329.99 €

The Forerunner 165 is available from today on. Even on Amazon, which had to wait a long time for the Forerunner 265 and Forerunner 965 to become available, both Forerunner 165 variants may already be ordered.

Garmin Forerunner 165
Garmin Forerunner 165 Music
Profilfoto von Florian
Florian

I am the creative mastermind behind this page, with a passion for both sports and technology. By combining these interests, I write about wearables and gadgets that can enhance your sports experience. As a regular consumer, I offer insights from the perspective of a genuine user.

You can learn more about me and this site here.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fitness Tracker Test
Sportuhren, Smartwatches & Activity Tracker Vergleich 2024

Garmin Forerunner 165 – Einsteiger-Sportuhr für Läufer vorgestellt

Garmin hat mit der Forerunner 165 eine neue Sportuhr für den Laufsport vorgestellt. Sie richtet sich vor allen an ambitionierte Lauf-Einsteiger und bietet ausreichend Funktionen, wenn die Ansprüche einmal wachsen sollten.

Garmin hat im letzten Jahr mit der Forerunner 265 und der Forerunner 965 für Produktupdates bei den Sportuhren im mittel- bzw. hochpreisigen Segment gesorgt. Mit der Forerunner 165 wird nun das Segment für die Einsteiger Zuwachs.

Garmin Forerunner 165 | Quelle: Garmin

Garmin Forerunner 165 | Quelle: Garmin

Garmin Forerunner 165 – Umfangreiche Updates bei Hard- und Software

Trotz der nicht ganz erwarteten Nomenklatur dürfte die Forerunner 165 als Nachfolger der Forerunner 55 verstanden werden. Dass Garmin die Uhr nicht „Forerunner 65“ genannt hat, mag an den vielen Neuerungen liegen, die der Forerunner 165 widerfahren sind.

 Forerunner 55Forerunner 165Forerunner 265
Display1,04" MIP1,2" AMOLED1,3" AMOLED
Auflösung208 × 208390 × 390416 × 416
Maße42 × 42 × 11,6 mm43 × 43 × 11,6 mm46,1 × 46,1 × 12,9 mm
Gewicht37 g39 g47 g
Speicher-4 GB8 GB
Armband20 mm20 mm22 mm

Zur besseren Einordnung der Forerunner 165 zu den angrenzenden Produkte Forerunner 55 und Forerunner 265 finden sich die grundlegenden Specs in obiger Tabelle.

  • Music- und Non-Music-Modelle

    Garmin bietet die Forerunner 165 in zwei Varianten an: Neben dem Standard-Modell verfügt die Forerunner 165 Music über einen verbauten Speicher zur Ablage von Musikinhalten, die dann auf Bluetooth-Kopfhörern oder -Lautsprechern abgespielt werden können. Entsprechend ihres Status als „Einsteiger-Modell“ stehen der Forerunner 165 Music lediglich 4 GByte zur Verfügung. Sie ähnelt in diesem Aspekt der Garmin vivoactive 5.

    Die größeren Modelle Forerunner 265 und Forerunner 965 hingegen bieten 8 GByte bzw. 32 GByte. Der Speicher der Forerunner 965 wird jedoch auch zur Ablage von Kartenmaterial genutzt.

    Vor dem Hintergrund der großen Datenmengen, die auf die Uhr übertragen werden können, unterstützt die Forerunner 165 Music WLAN-Verbindungen, auf die das Standard-Modell verzichten muss.

  • 1,2″ AMOLED-Display

    Eine der größten Änderungen betrifft das Display. Auch bei der kleinen Forerunner 165 vollzieht Garmin den Wechsel vom transflektiven MIP- zum AMOLED-Display. Dieses ist mit 1,2″ nicht nur größer, löst mit 390 x 390 Pixeln deutlich höher auf, sondern ermöglicht auch eine kontrastreichere Darstellung mit knallig-bunten Farben. Damit ist zumindest bei der Forerunner-Serie die transflektive MIP-Display-Technologie beerdigt worden.

    Das Gehäuse wächst trotz des größeren Displays nur moderat auf 43 x 43 x 11,6 mm und auch der Gewichtszuwachs auf 39 Gramm fällt nicht auf.

  • Akkulaufzeit bis zu 11 Tage

    Mit einer Laufzeit von bis zu 11 Tagen im Smartwatch-Modus erreicht die Forerunner 165 zwar nicht die Werte des Vorgängers, verfügt aber auch über das deutlich stromfressendere Display.

    Bei der Verwendung von GPS kommt die Forerunner 165 immerhin auf bis zu 19 Stunden. Bei Verwendung aller GNSS reicht der Akku für bis zu 17 Stunden. Wird gleichzeitig die Musikwiedergabe genutzt, sinkt die max. Laufzeit auf 7 bzw. 6,5 Stunden.

  • PPG-Sensor „Elevate V4“

    Garmin verbaut in der Forerunner 165 seinen PPG-Sensor der vierten Generation. Die „Elevate V4“ getaufte Technologie sorgt vor allem für das Vermessen von Pulsraten und der Herzfrequenzvariabilität und leitet daraus eine Reihe von Metriken ab. Dass die Forerunner 165 nicht über den EKG-fähigen Elevate-Sensor der fünften Generation verfügt, war zu erwarten.

  • Barometrischer Höhenmesser

    Zusätzlich integriert Garmin in die Forerunner 165 einen barometrischen Höhenmesser. Damit lässt sich zusätzlich zum GPS die Höhe bestimmen und beim Sport aufzeichen. Im Alltag kann die Forerunner 165 damit die Anzahl gestiegener Etagen ermitteln.

Funktionen

Der Leistungsklasse entsprechend zeigt die Forerunner 165 keine gänzlich neuen Funktionen, aber eben solche, die in den letzten 2,5 dem ein oder anderen Garmin-Produkt zugute gekommen sind.

Viele der neuen Funktionen sind dem Sensor „Elevate V4“ zuzuschreiben. Dieser ist zwar nicht taufrisch, die fünfte und EKG-fähige Generation bleibt vorerst den Premium-Modellen vorbehalten.

  • Herzfrequenzvariabilität / HRV-Status

    Für Sportler interessanter dürfte die Messung der Herzfrequenzvariabilität sein, aus der Garmin den HRV-Status ableitet. Ein hoher HRV-Wert deutet darauf hin, dass der Körper auf körperliche Stress gut reagieren kann. Selbst bevorstehende Infekte lassen sich meist an der Veränderung der Herzfrequenzvariabilität erkennen.

  • Blutsauerstoffsättigung SpO2

    Mit Hilfe Infrarot- und roten LED-Lichts kann die Forerunner 165 den Blutsauerstoffgehalt ermittelt. Auch wenn die Daten medizinisch nicht verlässlich sind, geben sie Hinweise auf Atemschwierigkeiten im Schlaf bzw. der Akklimatisierung beim Aufenthalt in großen Höhen. Während die Daten im Schlaf fortwährend erhoben werden, muss die Messung am Tag manuell angestoßen werden.

  • Kardiovasuläre Fitness VO2max

    Den kardiovaskulären Fitness-Wert VO2max ermittelt die Forerunner 165 nicht nur für Straßenläufe, sondern auch für Trailruns.

  • Running Dynamics

    Für mich recht überraschend bietet die Forerunner 165 die von Garmin „Running Dynamics“ getauften Laufeffizienz-Metriken. Dazu gehören u.a. die Schrittlänge, die Schrittfrequenz, die vertikale Oszillation, das vertikales Verhältnis und die Bodenkontaktzeit. Selbst die Laufleistung ermittelt die Forerunner 165 ohne weiteres Zubehör.

  • Morning Report

    Der Morning Report liefert kurz nach dem Aufstehen eine Zusammenfassung über den Schlaf, die körperliche Verfassung und die anstehenden Termine des Tages. Weil für Jeden andere Informationen wichtig sind, lässt sich der Morning Report den eigenen Bedürfnisse anpassen.

  • Nap Detection

    Recht neu ist die Nap Detection, die kleine Nickerchen auch während des Tages erkennt. Die daraus gewonnene Energie schreibt Garmin der Body Battery gut. Diese beschreibt, wie viel körperliche „Energie“ für den Rest des Tages zur Verfügung steht.

  • Einfache Navigation

    Wer Routen per Garmin Connect oder Komoot erstellt, kann sich die Strecke während des Sports auf der Uhr anzeigen lassen. Es handelt sich aber eben nur um eine „Strichlinie“ – richtiges Kartenmaterial bleibt der Forerunner 965 und den Epix- und Fenix-Modellen vorbehalten. Immerhin informiert die Uhr darüber, wenn von der geplanten Route abgewichen wird.

Für ein Produkt-Update sind das in meinen Augen wirklich viele und hochwertige Funktionen. Zugegeben, die Forerunner 265 hat noch einmal mehr Funktionen, aber für Lauf-Einsteiger schickt sich die Forerunner 165 an, das Modell der Wahl zu werden. Und selbst wenn die ersten 5 oder 10 km geschafft sind und die Ansprüche an die Leistung und an die Sportuhr steigen, hält die Forerunner 165 viele sinnvolle Funktionen bereit.

Abgrenzung zur Garmin Forerunner 265

Dass die Forerunner 55 aufgrund ihres Alters und der verbauten Sensoren deutlich weniger Funktionen bietet, lässt sich an den o.g. Neuerungen der Forerunner 165 bereits recht gut erkennen. Sie lässt aber auch ein paar Features vermissen, die erst das nächst größere Modell, nämlich die Forerunner 265, bietet:

  • Multiband-GPS
  • SatIQ
  • Trainingsbereitschaft
  • Trainingszustand
  • Support für Multisport / Triathlons
  • Mehr unterstützte Sportprofile
  • Mehr unterstützte externe Sensoren

Dabei handelt es sich meiner Meinung nach vornehmlich um Features, die dann an Bedeutung gewinnen, wenn der Anspruch an die eigene Leistung und das zielgerichtete Training steigen. Für Lauf-Einsteiger braucht es keine der Funktionen zwingend.

Preise und Verfügbarkeit

Wie vorab avisiert bietet Garmin die Forerunner 165 für 279 € an. Für die Forerunner 165 Music schlägt Garmin eine UVP von 329 € vor. Die Uhr erscheint zusätzlich in vier Farbvarianten:

ModellFarbeUVP
Garmin Forerunner 165- Schwarz / Schiefergrau
- Dunstgrau / Steinweiss
279,99 €
Garmin Forerunner 165 Music- Schwarz / Schiefergrau
- Dunstgrau / Steinweiss
- Türkis / Aqua
- Beere / Flieder
329,99 €

Mit der Produktankündigung ist die Forerunner 165 bereits im Handel erhältlich. Selbst bei Amazon, die lange auf die Verfügbarkeit von Forerunner 265 und Forerunner 965 warten mussten, sind die Sportuhren bereits verfügbar.

Garmin Forerunner 165
Garmin Forerunner 165 Music

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Ø Bewertung: / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen:

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Weil du diesen Beitrag nützlich fandest...

Folge uns in sozialen Netzwerken!

Es tut uns leid, dass der Beitrag für dich nicht hilfreich war!

Lasse uns diesen Beitrag verbessern!

Wie können wir diesen Beitrag verbessern?


Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert